h1

Air transport

22 December, 2007

My early career was spent in the airline training industry at Air Service Training Perth in Scotland. In 1986 I produced a history of Perth Aerodrome as part of the celebrations of the aerodrome’s fiftieth anniversary.

Although I moved into full-time HE in 1992 I never quite let go of my airline roots – my PhD thesis, completed at Cranfield School of Management in 2003, was entitled Notions of ‘success’ and ‘failure’ held by senior UK airline executives and their perceptions of the causes of ‘success’.

This airline background is part of the reason that I established the ATLAS Mass Tourism Special Interest Group, a network of more than 70 researchers from 19 countries interested in researching mass tourism and the travel industry.

Leave a Reply

